Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Airtrek Turbo issue......

Search this Thread

Old Oct 1, 2011, 05:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Airtrek Turbo issue......

Hi Guys,

i brought a 2002 airtrek turbo a few weeks back and have just hooked up a boost guage and taken it out for a test run to see what it is actully making, to my surprise the needle climbed all the way to 18-19 psi, at this pressure and at approximatly 5k revs its sorta farts(like letting the air out of a large ballon) and bleeds off pressure (just a constant pshhhhhhhhhhh), bear in mind this can be heard from the drivers seat at 140km/h.

letting off the accelorator stops the noise and pressing back on the peddle it climbs again then farts and bleeds off the pressure.

im no expert on turbos (my last car was an r33 gts25 skyline) and i dont think this is a good sign, from what i can find on airtreks standard boost is about 0.6bar (9psi)

i am unable to locate the BCS (not under the airbox like i have read)

i have tightend all piping, cable ties on the vacum hoses (clips dont seem to hold them well)

no mods, standerd everthing afaik.

any help would be much apreciated.

(sorry if this is in the wrong section the engine and gearbox is very similar to a evo 7 GTA ad i couldent find an airtrek area)
Old Oct 1, 2011, 05:59 PM
Evolving Member

truthfully its hard to tell w/o hearing it myself, but it seems has if you still have a boost leak. i personally had some piping that was bent and would hold boost fine till around 18 than boom my boost guage fluttered around and than settled and actually climbed very slowly so i was like wtf? so after a boost leak test sure enought after about 15 psi i heard a whistle and all it was a pipind the looked like a D vs O. good luck
Old Oct 1, 2011, 11:49 PM
Evolving Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts