Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

5 speed 5th gear failure?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 31, 2014, 09:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5 speed 5th gear failure?

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to the evo world, actually looking to buy an 8 atm. I come from DSM's so I'm pretty familiar with the 4g, but the evo drivetrain is something that I'm still not completely familiar with.
That being said, I'm looking at an evo 8 that has had some tranny issues. All fixed by a reputable evo shop, but I'm trying to decipher the cars previous life. From what I understand the 5 spd are relatively strong. But the owner said 5th gear went out and would start to grind.
Is this common or was this car beat to hell?
Thanks in advance guys.
Old Mar 31, 2014, 10:09 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Im not a drivetrain expert however I have had a few owners complain about 5th gear grind and im starting to see that its more common. One of my friends got it b/c he kept getting lock out however few other people got it b/c they were tracking or beating there cars. All I can say is, Im starting to see a trend. #fifthgeargrind
Old Mar 31, 2014, 11:28 AM
Evolving Member

My 3rd grinds unless I rev match and 5th grinds at high rpm.

Adjusting the clutch pedal and changing trans fluid didn't really help so I have a rebuild coming up shortly.
Old Mar 31, 2014, 12:53 PM

Originally Posted by Shortbus115
My 3rd grinds unless I rev match and 5th grinds at high rpm.

Adjusting the clutch pedal and changing trans fluid didn't really help so I have a rebuild coming up shortly.
Did you beat the **** out of it? Or is this just something that's started occurring over time?
Old Mar 31, 2014, 06:40 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by llauer76