Notices
Evo X Engine Management / Tuning Forums Discuss the major engine management systems.

Boost Controllers and such...

Search this Thread

Old May 15, 2009, 05:05 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Boost Controllers and such...

So I'm very new to this stuff, and in the past I have simply just picked up a MBC and been done with it. However, this time I want to see if I can't learn something and maybe even make a thread others can learn from too.

I've been looking around trying to figure out what type of Boost Controller I want to get. As far as I know the options are...

Manual Boost Controller (MBC)
Electronic Boost Controller (EBC)
X Port Port Boost Controller (PBC)

Now if I'm not mistaken the MBC is fairly straight forward it just uses different spring rates to control the boost taper and you set it and forget it.

However on the flip side of that coin the EBC allows a greater degree of control over tuning aspects, and are adjustable according to different things like gear & rpms. My friend sent me this link, which I thought was pretty slick. (http://splparts.com/doc/tech/EBC.htm)

Lastly, if I'm not mistaken, which I probably am, there's are 2, & 3 Port Boost Controllers on the market and they each give varying levels of control. The concept behind the PBC is to allow the computer to manage different aspects of the boost according to Air Fuel ratios, Gears, RPMs, and other tuning aspects allowing a tuner to really tweak the ECU for optimal performance.

With that said, I've just started trying to figure out what PBCs are available for my car, but I wanted to get this post up in case I've misunderstood certain aspects, or if there are other things I should consider when looking for a 3 port boost controller.

Aside from that synapses suggestions on 3 PBCs to look at would be greatly appreciated!
Old May 15, 2009, 05:11 PM

personally, I'm just going to let the ecu handle boost.

good idea or bad idea?
Old May 15, 2009, 05:17 PM