Random Load Drop During Pull - EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Random Load Drop During Pull

Reply

 
 
 
Old Aug 19, 2016, 06:40 AM
  #1  
Newbie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Random Load Drop During Pull

ok so i have been searching for this answer and cant seem to find it. When i am in the middle of a pull normally only happens in 4th or 5th gear but i will be anywhere between 4k-5k rpms and my load will just drop from high load to under 10.
Example: Load Rpm
229.2 4906.25
265.2 4937.5
285.6 4968.75
4.8 4968.75
8.4 5031.25
8.4 5031.25
303.6 5031.25

Before i put my ETS FMIC and piping on and was basically stock my car would loose all power and buck hard and popping out the exhaust. now that i have switched to speed density it doesnt force me to loose power and what not but i am still getting that load dip. doesnt make any sense. is it too much timing pulled away or too much mivec? i run max 22.8 after 200 load and starts dropping at 3500 rpm. any help would be greatly appreciated. i am running tephramod v7 speed density 88591715
Simon Pugmire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 07:20 AM
  #2  
Evolving Member
iTrader: (5)
 
edsct9a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 202
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
You are probably hitting a higher load then what you can read at the moment. The stock setup on V7 is 1.2 for the multiplier, sorry I can't remember the actual name. It should be under the global fuel. With it set to 1.2 your max load you can read is 306, changing it to 1.3 will be 331.
edsct9a is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 09:13 AM
  #3  
Newbie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i am running an omni 4 bar ( just wanted to clarify that ). I just checked under fueling and didnt find anything. are you meaning the 2byte to 1byte load factor? that i did notice was 1.2. If i am planning on running much higher boost (35+) what should i be setting it to? Thanks for the help on this, it has been eating at me
Simon Pugmire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 09:18 AM
  #4  
Evolving Member
iTrader: (5)
 
edsct9a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 202
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Simon Pugmire View Post
i am running an omni 4 bar ( just wanted to clarify that ). I just checked under fueling and didnt find anything. are you meaning the 2byte to 1byte load factor? that i did notice was 1.2. If i am planning on running much higher boost (35+) what should i be setting it to? Thanks for the help on this, it has been eating at me
Yes, that's the one, sorry couldn't remember the correct name. You will have to figure that out since you can have 2 cars hit the same psi but will have different loads. Whatever number you put in there is multiplied by 255. So if you put 1.3 it will be 255x1.3=331.5
edsct9a is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 10:20 AM
  #5  
Evolved Member
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 509
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
Originally Posted by Simon Pugmire View Post
i am running an omni 4 bar ( just wanted to clarify that ). I just checked under fueling and didnt find anything. are you meaning the 2byte to 1byte load factor? that i did notice was 1.2. If i am planning on running much higher boost (35+) what should i be setting it to? Thanks for the help on this, it has been eating at me
That could be your issue right there. However before you go out and buy a new one, try doing a boost leak test first. Best to do some testing before throwing money at the problem.
Klaiceps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 11:42 AM
  #6  
Newbie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Klaiceps View Post
That could be your issue right there. However before you go out and buy a new one, try doing a boost leak test first. Best to do some testing before throwing money at the problem.
this had been happening before my full ETS intake system was put on and switched to speed density. I performed a boost leak test after installing ETS setup.

I will try changing the load factor and see if that helps. i will report back after i get home from work =)
Simon Pugmire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 01:25 PM
  #7  
Evolved Member
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 509
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
What is your wideband reading when your load drops?
Klaiceps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 01:38 PM
  #8  
Newbie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
when i was on stock piping with MAF it would actually cut the power with it so i was basically at idle, it was like my car quit but didnt die. With my speed density setup it did not cut the power and backfire, it pulled like it should, all parameters in my log still carried on as normal but the load dropped than started back up at 303 load. I am more than sure its going to be the load factor. Since i had a MAF before the car saw 8.4 load so the MAF probably tried to compensate which is why i would have that nasty backfire and lose power.
Simon Pugmire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2016, 05:05 PM
  #9  
Newbie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok so i did a pull and it seems as if it shifted the load. i did a pull and didnt even touch 300 load so i am guessing its better? i will have to see if it happens later down the road
Simon Pugmire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2016, 08:17 AM
  #10  
Evolved Member
iTrader: (27)
 
evo8426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 4,248
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
You have to change the load factor in the tune itself and in evoscan.
evo8426 is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
rcgoff2
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain
18
Apr 2, 2013 10:06 PM
kouzman
EcuFlash
34
Nov 26, 2008 08:55 PM
Paul Nelson
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain
212
Apr 9, 2008 08:49 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Random Load Drop During Pull


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.