Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

Evo 8 issues.

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11, 2018, 04:10 PM
Evolving Member

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Evo 8 issues.

Hello everyone, I am owner of both an evo X and recently a 8. The 8 I got for a good deal, the owner had a bent rod, and the car was in the shop with the motor pulled apart. So I got to inspect the internals before I bought it. It’s extensivily modded. Cams, FP green and all the bolt ons to make it work. I have some experience with tunning the X so I want to attempt to fix this issue as well. Now on to the issue. If I get on the car, regardless of the gear the turbo will spool up to the 26.5 psi max it’s tuned for, regardless of the RPM. and what ends up happening is it cuts out. Like a fuel cut and or a boost dump. I am thinking it’s the tune. Can anyone think of other possibilities?

Last edited by Smoknzx3; Feb 12, 2018 at 10:31 AM.
Old Feb 12, 2018, 04:56 AM
Evolving Member

Bump... no one?
Old Feb 12, 2018, 07:41 AM
EvoM Community Team Leader

Received 704 Likes on 592 Posts
you could be hitting a load limit, you could be missfiring the plugs, pretty hard to even speculate without more information. Sounds kind of like your hitting the load limit in your tune though.
Old Feb 12, 2018, 10:30 AM
Evolving Member

Yeah that was similar to what I was thinking. Additionally, I don't think the boost is matched up, or scaled to the Load and RPM's. I think the plugs are something I want to swap out, just to eliminate them as an issue. I'll have to search around to find the right ones.