Notices

Cobb AP: ?s on product, features, and various maps incl Perrin maps go here [merge]

Search this Thread

Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:56 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cobb AP: ?s on product, features, and various maps incl Perrin maps go here [merge]

Ok so I have read about the AP and wanted to know if it flashes the ECU then how is it that it is undetectable after it is unmarried. Wouldn't the flash count increase? So wouldn't this be the same as other flashes? I am new to AP thats why I am a little confused to what actually takes place and why its better than a flash (only in the respect NOT the fact that you can do it yourself and everything else.
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:29 PM
Evolved Member

Currently there is no proof that a flash counter even exists in the ECU.
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:53 PM
Evolving Member

Are the guys who are making ecuflash saying that there is evidence that a flash count is there? This may make sense. Isn't there a mechanic on here that works for mitsu that could tell us? It really shouldn't be that hard to find out this secret. If nobody knows and nobody checks then whats the point of having one.
Old Jan 11, 2009, 09:28 PM
Evolved Member

I think the farthest they've delved into it indicated that there wasn't a "flash counter". However, if you don't have a stock map, they could notice that the checksum was different. But seriously, even in that case they would have to be overly observant.

I think if you are removing the AP before servicing, it will be as "stock" to the dealership as one that has just rolled off the truck. Besides, it's not like they take your car away from you if they discover it. The warranty is questionable at best and it's really not the end of the world if it gets pulled. Pay to play.

(Note that I don't actually have any evidence to back any of this up, just observations thus far.)

Enjoy your AP! Are you looking forward to RaceSoftware?
Old Jan 12, 2009, 05:44 AM
Evolving Member