Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Boost guage and turbo timer install price?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 27, 2003, 09:06 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Boost guage and turbo timer install price?

Hey guys. I want to get a greddy turbo timer and a boost guage installed but i dont want to mess anything up. Im new to turbos. How much do you think the installation should cost for both of those and the time it should take for each installation? Thanks.
Old Jun 27, 2003, 12:06 PM
Evolving Member

First of all, let me say that I would suggest installing it yourself. It might be a bit time consuming and annyoing, but you will achieve the following:
1. Save a lot of cash (see below)
2. Learn how it is hooked up and how it works, so when something goes wrong you can easily diagnose it

Most shops will charge you per hour. They will probably figure 1-2 hrs for the TT depending whether it has any extra function. They will probably figure the same time for the boost gauge, although there should be some time savings if you're installing it at the same time, so maybe an extra 45-60 minutes for the gauge.

So you are probably looking at 2-3 hrs of mechanics time at $60-80 per hour, which would run you $120-240. I have seen people pay that. Again, I would suggest doing it yourself.
Old Jun 27, 2003, 12:11 PM
Evolved Member

its not that hard, many other folks have written up faq's with pictures step by step on how to perform these two functions. these two i would consider very very simple additions
Old Jun 27, 2003, 12:51 PM
bs
Evolving Member

yeah i agree. if you can read instructions then you can install these items with ease. these are actually good places to start for first installs imo. the defi boost gauge in my evo was the first thing i had ever installed and it was very easy! don't pay $200 to get these installed.
Old Jun 27, 2003, 03:06 PM
Evolved Member