Notices
Evo How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you're looking for a how-to on something, ask in here.

How To: Install a Zeitronix Wideband

Search this Thread

Old Jan 30, 2007, 06:23 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How To: Install a Zeitronix Wideband

How to Install a Zeitronix ZT2 Wideband on an EVO 9

Disclaimer: I am not an automotive professional (mechanic or other) and recommend that all work be performed by trained professionals.

Step 1: Jack car up and Identify location for wideband sensor

I wanted very little / no wires hanging from the wideband sensor, wanted the sensor more than 16” from the turbo (per directions), and wanted the sensor to be located before the catalytic converter. If you are running a test pipe with a pre-fabricated / welded bung then you may choose to use this location.

In my case I noticed a grommet on the passenger side footwell, in the drive-shaft tunnel (right above where the downpipe meets the catalytic converter) and chose this to be my wideband sensor location. With the downpipe on the car, I marked the location of the sensor with a paint pen (triple check this as tolerances are tight). You want the sensor vertical (wire going up through the grommet), so make sure you wont hit the driveshaft.

Step 2: Remove the downpipe (DP) and have a wideband bung welded

There are several threads on how to remove the downpipe, so I won't go into too much detail here...

Basically removed the 2 bolts holding the DP to the O2 housing; then remove the cross bars (I left one bolt on each cross bar and just rotated them out of the way; remove the DP support bracket bolts; then I removed the bolts connecting the DP to the catalytic converter. Your DP should now just come off and should be ready for you to take (in your other car) to your welder....

In my case I am using a TTP Engineering / Megan Racing DP that has been wrapped with heat cloth.

Step 3: Reinstall the DP