Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

RobiSpec Springs

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 11:16 AM
  #1  
roevo's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 354
Likes: 0
From: fresno,ca
RobiSpec Springs

I was browsing eBay and came across RobiSpec springs for a damn good price

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ROBIS...Q5fAccessories

Ive heard good things about his products.
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 11:21 AM
  #2  
Smike's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9,002
Likes: 12
From: somewhere testing various tires, brakes, and suspensions.
100% sure they are real RobiSpec springs?

I'd be weary.
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 12:10 PM
  #3  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
Interesting - I called the # and got a VM and did not leave a message. Seller seems to be selling a lot of suspension for chevy's. Its possible Robi had these springs made here and they are selling the overstock. I emailed Robi as well to check if he knows of this.
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 01:19 PM
  #4  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
Contacted seller. He is supposedly sending me pics of the logo on the springs. Said he got them as part of an overstock sale. I am waiting on pictures and will keep thread updated.
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 01:32 PM
  #5  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
Here are pics, seems to be legit, gang! Unless someone can tell me otherwise...
Attached Thumbnails RobiSpec Springs-evosprings1.jpg  
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 01:40 PM
  #6  
roevo's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 354
Likes: 0
From: fresno,ca
sorry I don't know much about the seller. I also emailed the seller to see what was up. He told me it was an overstock purchase.
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 03:37 PM
  #7  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
I took one for the team I will keep everyone updated as to how things are going
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 04:00 PM
  #8  
wizzo 8's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
Liked
Loved
iTrader: (35)
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,836
Likes: 14
From: Chicago suburbs
Nice find. I don't think its a full 1" drop though.
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 05:08 PM
  #9  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
From what I have read. These are approximate obviously...

F = 1.1" drop
R = 0.9" drop
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 05:26 PM
  #10  
Danner's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
From: Cincinnati Ohio
That is a great deal if they are legit springs. That is 60 dollars off msrp. Please keep us posted
Reply
Old Mar 2, 2011 | 05:30 PM
  #11  
wizzo 8's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
Liked
Loved
iTrader: (35)
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,836
Likes: 14
From: Chicago suburbs
I know these are made for better cornering but how do you think it might effect 60ft times at the drag strip? Its the only thing that is contemplating me buying these.
Reply
Old Mar 3, 2011 | 05:51 AM
  #12  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
Originally Posted by Danner
That is a great deal if they are legit springs. That is 60 dollars off msrp. Please keep us posted
Will do.

Yet to receive a tracking #. I paid last afternoon. He emailed saying he could not make the fedex cutoff for yesterday and will be sending it out today. I hope he gets it out ASAP. I told him I am posting on the evo boards and that people want to make sure he is legit and springs are real etc.
Reply
Old Mar 3, 2011 | 05:53 AM
  #13  
LancerEvo8RS's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
From: USA
Originally Posted by wizzo 8
I know these are made for better cornering but how do you think it might effect 60ft times at the drag strip? Its the only thing that is contemplating me buying these.
I am no expert, but if you want to get drag - I would suggest some serious coilovers with high spring rates to keep the weight transfer from front to rear as minimal as possible during launch etc. I would ask AMS, ETS, English Racing etc as to what they would suggest for a drag application.
Reply
Old Mar 3, 2011 | 06:10 AM
  #14  
Toxin's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,595
Likes: 2
From: Way ahead...
Originally Posted by LancerEvo8RS
I am no expert, but if you want to get drag - I would suggest some serious coilovers with high spring rates to keep the weight transfer from front to rear as minimal as possible during launch etc. I would ask AMS, ETS, English Racing etc as to what they would suggest for a drag application.
Actually that's not true... Look at AWDMotorsports evos launches and you'll see how they transfer the weight.
Reply
Old Mar 3, 2011 | 10:33 AM
  #15  
roevo's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 354
Likes: 0
From: fresno,ca
I just got an email back from the seller about spring rates here is what he sent me

Front rates initial rate free length to ride height = 190 lbs /”
After ride height = 360 lbs /“

Rear = 200 lbs /”
= 400 lbs /”
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.