Notices

A little tuning help please?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 23, 2015, 05:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A little tuning help please?

OK, so I am just getting started with tuning. I am hoping to get a little help getting started. I've done plenty of reading and watched the videos. The thing is, the stock timing maps on my Lancer (02 OZ Rally M/T) are a big mess. It's so far off from how I've seen it is supposed to look I'm not sure how to start. I will attach a couple of logs and a screenshot showing the fuel and timing maps. As you can see the timing map has big dips in timing at 50% load and up, this seems counter to everything I've seen.
Attached Thumbnails A little tuning help please?-stock-maps.jpg  
Attached Files
Old Jul 23, 2015, 09:50 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Those maps look normal to me. When logging try putting the RPM and "load calculated" beside each other. That way you can find the cell on the map easier.

Turn off the "load 1byte" and use "load calculated" instead. Currently I can't tell which cell you have knock in but you do have a little knock. Until you do this I would not recommend touching the maps.

Also put the "knock voltage" near "knock sum". Voltage over 1.0 is typically knock.

Also be sure to save a STOCK COPY OF YOUR ROM. Just in case things go crazy you can just restart.

The maps in recompiles videos are big maps. Since the lancer is NA it doesn't need anything over the 100 load. Your fuel maps only come into play during WOT pulls. The rest of the time the ecu is trying to keep the AFR stoich. For now I would just get the knock out in your maps. Thats a good start with tuning. Don't be afraid to edit the maps. GO SLOW WITH THE EDITING. Make changes, go back out and log, and see if it helped. Typically for knock anything over 3 degrees only needs about 1 degree of timing pulled. 1-2 counts of knock are ok unless its constant.

If you have anymore questions please ask.