Notices
Evo X Engine Management / Tuning Forums Discuss the major engine management systems.

Which flash is better?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 24, 2009, 03:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which flash is better?

I am new to the EVO X and i just ordered my catback and HKS drop in filter so far.

Next, i am thinking of getting my ECU flashed and that's all i am going to do the car.

so, i've read that i can do:

1- Mail in flash with Vishnu Tuning (Vish), and i read that they got close to 80hp and 80lbtrq. wow...

2- I can order a Cobb thingy and i can upload the map/flash myself without down time.

both are in the same price range.

now, the question i have is the performance that i will get from each and which is better (beside the obvious downtime with Vishnu)

Any opinion advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
Old Apr 24, 2009, 03:25 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Get an AP
Old Apr 24, 2009, 03:26 PM
Evolving Member

I am apologizing before I even start... If you call the AccessPort a Cobb "thingy" you would be wasting that system due to your lack of knowledge, the vishnu tune wouldn't be a bad idea since he is a renowned evo tuner, but another option you have is an ECUTEK flash. From an inexpirenced evo owner/driver I think an Ecutek flash would be your best solution since your tuner is dealing with all the tuning. IF there is no authorized Ecutek tuner in your area then the second best option is the mail-in tune. But you can always gain knowledge of your AP once you own it... once again im sorry if this offends you...
Old Apr 24, 2009, 03:31 PM
Evolving Member

All methodes provide the same types of hp numbers. I say go in to a local shop, or drive a distance and get a custom map tune for your car. Thats what I plan on doing when I hit 2k =)
Old Apr 24, 2009, 03:37 PM
Evolved Member

Received 13 Likes on 3 Posts